Viewing All - All News - All Months All Years Change Filters

Bombardier to Supply INNOVIA Automated People Mover System to Chicago O’Hare International Airport

May 4, 2015 Berlin Transportation,  Press Release

  • Proven BOMBARDIER INNOVIA APM vehicles and BOMBARDIER CITYFLO 650 automatic train control system to provide a competitive solution and capacity increase for Chicago airport transit upgrade

Rail technology leader Bombardier Transportation has been awarded a contract to supply an INNOVIA APM 256 automated people mover (APM) system with 36 vehicles to the Chicago O’Hare International Airport for the Chicago Department of Aviation (CDA) together with Parsons Construction Group, (a subsidiary of Parsons Corporation), who is prime contractor. Bombardier Transportation’s share of the contract is valued at approximately $180 million US (161 million euro).

Pierre Attendu, President, Systems Division, Bombardier Transportation said, “With our proven INNOVIA APM 256 vehicles and CITYFLO 650 CBTC technology, Bombardier offers a competitive, fully integrated system to O’Hare International Airport that will increase capacity and provide reliable transportation for passengers. We are confident that our vast experience in delivering brown-field system upgrades and asset replacements makes us the right partner to deliver this challenging project.”

Bombardier’s scope of supply includes 36 INNOVIA APM 256 vehicles, the CITYFLO 650 Communications-Based Train Control (CBTC) system for driverless operation, as well as on-board communications. The INNOVIA APM 256 vehicle was the ideal choice as it fits into O’Hare’s existing guideway infrastructure and station envelopes. In addition, the CITYFLO 650 CBTC system’s flexibility enables it to be installed and tested during downtime. This is vital as the airport’s current people mover system must remain in operation until replaced.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies – built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology – conserve energy, protect the environment, and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

Bombardier is the world’s leading manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Notes to Editors

Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.

BOMBARDIER, INNOVIA, CITYFLO, ECO 4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

For Information

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com

Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com

Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com

Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel:
+49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com

United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com

USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Share this page:

Viewing All - All News - All Months All Years Change Filters