Viewing All - All News - All Months All Years Change Filters

Frecciarossa 1000 Very High Speed Train Makes Maiden Journey in Italy

April 27, 2015 Berlin Transportation,  Press Release

  • Manufactured in Italy by Bombardier in partnership with AnsaldoBreda, the V300ZEFIRO/Frecciarossa 1000 is set to revolutionize high-speed travel in Italy
  • Milestone homologation enables train to enter commercial operation in June

Berlin, April 27, 2015 – Over the weekend, Italian transport operator Ferrovie dello Stato Italiane hosted the inaugural journey of the V300ZEFIRO very high speed train, known as the Frecciarossa 1000 in Italy. The train ran from Italy’s main financial hub of Milan to the nation’s capital Rome. The new very high speed trains will start commercial service in June 2015.

Sergio Mattarella, President of Italian Republic, together with Graziano Del Rio, Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation and Dario Franceschini, Minister of Culture and Tourism, attended the event with several distinguished guests. 

Lutz Bertling, President and Chief Operating Officer, Bombardier Transportation, said, “Bombardier has become a strong dedicated long-term partner to the Italian market, we are very proud to have been part of this ambitious project. We value our partnership with Ferrovie dello Stato and thank them for allowing us to play such a key role in the evolution of Italian technological excellence.”

Manufactured in partnership with AnsaldoBreda, the Frecciarossa 1000 is the newest member of the BOMBARDIER ZEFIRO family of high speed trains. With a top commercial speed of up to 360 km/h, the V300ZEFIRO very high speed train is the fastest train in Europe and its advanced, high acceleration delivers excellent travel times, even on winding routes. It is also fully interoperable, meaning passengers can cross European borders without changing trains. The V300ZEFIRO train can also be adapted for use on networks in many other non-European countries.

Bombardier Transportation, benefitting from the aeronautical experience of Bombardier Aerospace which lead to the streamlined shape and design of the train, was responsible for leading the project management, mechanical and engineering product development (including propulsion and TCMS), manufacturing Bogies and Propulsion, as well as testing, homologation and commissioning of the first 5 train sets. 

In addition to this, Bombardier Transportation also won the ten-year contract to maintain Trenitalia’s fleet of 50 V300ZEFIRO/Frecciarossa 1000 very high speed trains. One of the most important fleet maintenance contracts awarded in Italy in recent years, the contract will be executed in association with Bombardier’s consortium partner AnsaldoBreda.

The V300ZEFIRO trains are produced locally in Italy. They offer an entirely comprehensive solution that combines high capacity, reliability, performance and style with extraordinary levels of efficiency, making it truly unique. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies are included in the design making this iconic high speed train an extremely environmentally friendly transportation solution.

About Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Transportation, a global leader in rail technology, offers the broadest portfolio in the rail industry and delivers innovative products and services that set new standards in sustainable mobility. BOMBARDIER ECO4 technologies – built on the four cornerstones of energy, efficiency, economy, and ecology – conserve energy, protect the environment, and help to improve total train performance for operators and passengers. Bombardier Transportation is headquartered in Berlin, Germany, and has a very diverse customer base with products or services in more than 60 countries. It has an installed base of over 100,000 vehicles worldwide.

About Bombardier

About Bombardier
Bombardier is the world’s leading manufacturer of both planes and trains. Looking far ahead while delivering today, Bombardier is evolving mobility worldwide by answering the call for more efficient, sustainable and enjoyable transportation everywhere. Our vehicles, services and, most of all, our employees are what make us a global leader in transportation.

Bombardier is headquartered in Montréal, Canada. Our shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (BBD) and we are listed on the Dow Jones Sustainability World and North America Indices. In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014, we posted revenues of $20.1 billion. News and information are available at bombardier.com or follow us on Twitter @Bombardier.

Notes to Editors

 Follow Bombardier Transportation on Twitter @BombardierRail. To receive our press releases, please visit the RSS Feed section.


BOMBARDIER, ECO 4 and The Evolution of Mobility are trademarks of Bombardier Inc. or its subsidiaries.

For Information

Australia and New Zealand: +61 3 9794 2111
Loulou Hammad, loulou.hammad@au.transport.bombardier.com

Austria: +43 1 2511 0760
Karin Schwarz, karin.schwarz@at.transport.bombardier.com

Benelux: +49 30 98607 1687
Janet Olthof, janet.olthof@de.transport.bombardier.com

Brazil: +55 11 3538 4794
Ana Caiasso, ana.caiasso@br.transport.bombardier.com

Canada: +1 450 441 3007
Marc-André Lefebvre, marc-andre@ca.transport.bombardier.com

China: +86 10 8517 2268
Flora Long, flora.long@cn.transport.bombardier.com

France and North Africa: +33 6 07 78 95 38
Anne Froger, anne.froger@fr.transport.bombardier.com

Germany, Switzerland, Central and Eastern Europe and Israel:
+49 30 98607 1134

Immo von Fallois, immo.von_fallois@de.transport.bombardier.com

India and Japan: +91 7 838 660 093
Harsh Mehta, harsh.mehta@in.transport.bombardier.com

Italy: +39 34 6504 5310
Paola Biondi, paola.biondi@it.transport.bombardier.com

Mexico: +52 55 5093 7714
Paulina Ortega, paulina.ortega@mx.transport.bombardier.com

Middle East: +44 1332 266031
Emma Brett, emma.brett@uk.transport.bombardier.com

Nordic and Baltic Countries: +46 10 852 5213
Pär Isaksson, paer.isaksson@se.transport.bombardier.com

Poland, Eastern Europe and CIS: +48 22 596 51 22
Maciej Kaczanowski, maciej.kaczanowski@pl.transport.bombardier.com

South East Asia: +65 6478 6235
Evon Lam, evon.lam@sg.transport.bombardier.com

Southern Africa: +33 4801 4617
Sandy Roth, sandy.roth@fr.transport.bombardier.com

United Kingdom: +44 1332 251 238
James Rollin, james.rollin@uk.transport.bombardier.com

USA: +1 450 441 3007
Maryanne Roberts, maryanne.roberts@us.transport.bombardier.com

Share this page:

Viewing All - All News - All Months All Years Change Filters