Select a Management Team Member
  • All
  • Bombardier Inc.
  • Aerospace
  • Transportation
  • Pierre Beaudoin President and Chief Executive Officer Bombardier Inc. 
  • Michele (Mike) Arcamone President, Bombardier Commercial Aircraft Aerospace 
  • Dr. Lutz Bertling President and Chief Operating Officer Transportation 
  • Éric Martel President, Bombardier Business Aircraft Aerospace 
  • Jean Séguin President, Bombardier Aerostructures & Engineering Services Aerospace 
  • Pierre Alary Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Bombardier Inc. 
  • Pierre Attendu President, Division Systems Transportation 
  • Raymond Bachant President, Americas Division Transportation 
  • Peter Cedervall President, Division Rail Control Solutions Transportation 
  • Mtre Daniel Desjardins Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary Bombardier Inc. 
  • Dieter John President, Division Central / Eastern Europe & CIS Transportation 
  • John Paul Macdonald Senior Vice President, Human Resources and Public Affairs Bombardier Inc. 
  • Michel Ouellette Vice President, Aircraft Programs & Customer Services, Bombardier Business Aircraft Aerospace 
  • Steven A. Ridolfi Senior Vice President Bombardier Inc. 
  • Laurent Troger President, Division Western Europe, Middle East and Africa Transportation 

Åke Wennberg

Chief Technology Officer, Transportation

On January 1, 2014, Mr. Wennberg was appointed Chief Technology Officer at Bombardier Transportation.

Mr. Wennberg began his long, international career working for ASEA Traction Vasteras in 1977 as Development Engineer and over a ten-year period, worked his way up the ranks across a number of different departments and in a number of different countries. Between 1986 and 1987, Mr. Wennberg was President of ASEA Traction USA.

He joined ABB Transportation USA in 1987 and up until 1993 undertook several senior management positions in engineering and project management. 

From 1993 to 1997, Mr. Wennberg was Business Area Manager, Mainline Vehicles at ABB Transportation headquartered in Zürich. Within this time, he served as a Board Member (1 year Chairman) for the European Association for Railway Interoperability (AEIF) in Brussels.

Following this time, Mr. Wennberg became Chief Engineer at ABB Transportation Sweden and from 1998 – 1999 remained Chief Engineer but at ABB Transportation Scandinavia.

For three years, between 1999 and 2001, Mr. Wennberg worked as Chief Technical Officer at Daimler Chrysler Rail Systems (Adtranz). During this time he was also a member of the Adtranz Group Executive Board and the Daimler Chrysler R&D Committee in Stuttgart.

In 2001, he became President, Division Propulsion & Controls at Bombardier Transportation, headquartered in Zürich, later moving back to Berlin to take up the position of Vice President, Project Management & Chief Technical Officer. On 1 July 2008, Mr. Wennberg was appointed President, Locomotives and Equipment Division at Bombardier Transportation. In October 2011, his divisional responsibility was expanded to include Light Rail.

Until this present day, he is a member of the Bombardier Transportation Leadership Team and for three years, he also held the position of Chairman for the European Rail Research Advisory Council (ERRAC) in Brussels.

Mr. Wennberg was born in Sweden and holds a Master of Science in Power Electric from Chalmers Technical University Gothenburg/Sweden (1973 – 1977).


Share this page: